North Zealand - The Danish Riviera

    Examples of experiences
     Johannes Hage: Patron of Nivå A key figure in the history of the town of Nivå is Johannes Hage. He was a very special human being with a burning wish to help the weakest in the local community.Johannes Hage was born on 26th May 1842 in Emdrup into a wealthy merchant family. He studied political economics but chose farming instead. Johannes’ father, Alfred Hage, bought the manor Nivaagaard Gods and the brickyard belonging to the manor, Nivaagaard Teglværk, in 1859. In 1872, Johannes inherited the country estate from his father. The brickyard had huge significance for the local community in Nivå: In the 1870s, the brickyard produced around 5 million bricks and 300,000 drainage pipes every year. A major part of the production went to the expansion of Copenhagen. The now iconic ring kiln at the brickyard, built in 1870, was in use long after Johannes’ death.Apart from being a skilled businessman and landowner, a number of other activities took up much of Johannes’ time. He was the patriarch of the local community and politician for the Right Party, and his humanitarian engagement was extensive. He not only worried about the wellbeing of his own employees, but about the entire local community.As an example, he established the first sick-benefit association in Denmark, and in 1891 he established Nivaagaards Hospital, now known under the name Johannes Hages Hus. It was more a nursing home than a hospital, and it housed chronically and mentally ill patients. In 1973, the hospital moved to a new address on the road named after Johannes – Johannes Hages Alle – only a stone’s throw from the old buildings. Here, the organisation went under the heading ”nursing home” until 1990 when it was allotted status as a social-psychiatric sheltered accommodation with room for 60 inhabitants. To this day, Johannes Hage’s descendants appoint the chairman of the board of the house.Another beautiful memorial of Johannes Hage is the art collection that he established at Nivaagaard during the years 1895 to 1905. In 1908, he turned the collection into a self-governing institution and opened the doors to the public, allowing everyone to partake in the enjoyment of the many masterpieces from the Renaissance, the Baroque and the Danish Golden Age.In addition, he had Nivå church built in 1910 and established the charity foundation ”Den Hageske Stiftelse” in 1922. He was even the originator of the construction of Sletten harbour.Johannes Hage was made a Knight of the Order of Dannebrog in 1897 for his humanitarian efforts. He died on 14th January 1923 at Nivaagaard.If you visit Nivå, take time to visit Johannes Hage’s spectacular art collection at Nivaagaards Malerisamling. The beautiful park, designed by architect Christian Hage in the 1980s, that surrounds Nivaagaards Malerisamling, is a romantic sight with old beech trees and a wealth of rhododendron bushes. The park is open to the public all year round and is definitely worth a visit. If you visit Nivå sometime from the end of May until the beginning of June, you can experience the many colours of the rhododendrons in full bloom. Sources: Art gallery  Nivaagaards Malerisamling, industrial heritage museum Nivaagaard Teglværks Ringovn (website in Danish) and Johannes Hages Hus (website in Danish)Photo: Nivaagaards Malerisamling. Depicted: Nivaagaard Gods.Coordinates:  Latitude: 55.927129
    Longitude: 12.511015           
    Nature and culture View on map
     Liisberg Gallery Liisberg Gallery, Kajgaden 9, 3390 Hundested. Everyone is welcome by appointment at the studio at Færgevejen 4, 3390 Hundested Liisberg Gallery and Cleopatra Jewellery Design have begun a collaboration and will continue to market at Hundested Harbor as Gallery Liisberg. We sell our unsigned lithographs and press from New York. We have taken over Grethe Wittrock's stock of sail from the ship Georg Stage. Grethe now travels to the United States for two years - and will not exhibit elsewhere in DK during the period. Paintings big and small by Annette Liisberg - and the exciting, unique jewellery from Cleopatra Design, which many of our customers have sought is sold in the gallery. Our new beer - Sælhunden/The Sold Dog - is sold in a gift bag as a proposal for a hostess gift - it is a very special brew with a beautiful label! Shopping and cafés View on map